Institute for Numerical and Applied Mathematics - Research Group Optimization

Projects to improve Subsidiary Mathematics



 
The Research Group Optimization conducts several projects for the long-term improvement of education in mathematics as a subsidiary subject. These projects are funded by tuition fees and initially restricted to a three term period. For example the following measures were taken:

 

Math-specific introductory courses



 
Since October 2008 math-specific introductory courses for prospective students of biology and geological sciences are offered. Course duration is one week each and contents include refreshing mathematical school knowledge as well as preperation for math courses in university. Also, since September 2009, similar courses are offered for prospective students of agricultural sciences and forestry.

In 2012, a short movie presenting the introductory courses has been made:





 

Former projects



 

Mini tutorials



 
Along with the course Mathematics for Computer Scientist mini tutorials are offered which provide - in small groups with no more than 5 students - the opportunity for students to ask questions concerning the lecture contents to ensure a better understanding of contents. Also guidance for solving homework sheets is offered by teaching assistants in order for the students to repeat subject matters.



 

Quantitative Methods in Decision Support



 
In summer term 2012 a lecture comprising foundations from Optimization, Network Optimization and Operations Research has been offered. The lecture was intended for students of Economics and Business Informatics as well as interested students from other fields such as Bioinformatics, Forestry and Social Sciences.



 

Mathematics for Biologists



 
Along with the course Mathematics for Biologists in summer term 2008 new lecture notes were written which include subject-specific contents and examples for mathematics in biology. In addition a set of subject-specific exercises was developed.



 

Subject-specific exercises



 
To complement the courses Mathematics for Computer Scientists and Mathematics for Geo Scientists subject-specific exercises and project-based exercises were developed for both of the lectures.



 

Crash course Mathematics for Biologists



 
In March 2009 a crash course for exam preparation was initially offered for students of the lecture Mathemtics for Biologist on the accord of the Department of Biology. During the two-week course the contents of the lecture were reviewed systematically and practised in exercises. The first crash course was funded by the Department of Biology. Now it is part of the projects for the long-term improvement of Subsidiary Mathematics.



 

Numerical Mathematics for Physicists



 
In winter term 2008 / 09 an additional lecture was offered for students of physics. In accordance with the Department of Physics the lecture Numerical Mathematics for Physicists is offered and accompanying leture notes with physical examples are created.




Arbeitsgruppe Optimierung

 
   

Contact



   Research Group Optimization
   Prof. Dr. Anita Schöbel
   Lotzestraße 16-18
   37083 Göttingen
   Germany
 
   Phone +49 551-39-12237
   Fax: +49 551-39-33944

Institut für Numerische und Angewandte Mathematik - Arbeitsgruppe Optimierung

Projekte zur Verbesserung der Nebenfachmathematik



 
Die Arbeitsgruppe Optimierung führt mehrere Pilotprojekte zur langfristigen Verbesserung der Nebenfachausbildung Mathematik durch. Diese Projekte werden aus Studienbeiträgen finanziert und sind zunächst auf drei Semester begrenzt. Es wurden bzw. werden zum Beispiel die folgenden Maßnahmen durchgeführt:

 

Mathematikspezifische Propädeutika



 
Seit Oktober 2008 werden mathematik-spezifische Propädeutika für Studierende der Fächer Biologie und Geowissenschaften angeboten. Diese dauern jeweils eine Woche und beinhalten neben der Auffrischung der mathematischer Vorkenntnisse auch Veranstaltungen zu mathematik-relevanten allgemeinen Lerntechniken. Seit September 2009 werden zudem vergleichbare Propädeutikum für Studienanfänger der Agrar- und Forstwissenschaften angeboten.



Im Jahr 2012 wurde während der Propädeutika ein Kurzfilm aufgenommen, der einen Eindruck der Propädeutika vermitteln möchte:



 

Abgeschlossene Projekte



 

Mini-Tutorien



 
Zu der Veranstaltung Mathematik für Informatiker gibt es Präsenz-Tutorien, in denen - in Kleingruppe mit maximal 5 Studenten - Fragen zu den Inhalten der Vorlesungen behandelt werden und die den Anschluss an die neuen Vorlesungsinhalte erleichtern, sowie beim Erlernen des "mathematischen Aufschreibens" helfen sollen. Zudem leiten die studentischen Hilfskräfte die Studierenden an, gemeinsam die Übungsaufgaben zu lösen und den Stoff nachzubearbeiten.



 

Quantitative Methoden in der Entscheidungsunterstützung



 
Im Sommersemester 2012 wurde zum dritten Mal eine spezielle Vorlesung angeboten, welche Grundlagen aus dem Gebiet der Optimierung, der Netzwerkoptimierung und des Operations Research umfasst. Das Angebot richtet sich an Studierende der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, der Wirtschaftsinformatik sowie an andere interessierte Studierende z.B. aus der Bioinformatik, den Forstwissenschaften, den Sozialwissenschaften oder anderen Fakultäten.



 

Mathematik für Biologen



 
Zur Veranstaltung Mathematik für Biologen wurde im Sommersemester 2008 ein neues Skript erstellt, welches fachspezifische Lehrinhalte und Beispiele zur Mathematik in der Biologie beinhaltet. Zudem wurden fachspezifische Übungen zusammengestellt bzw. entwickelt.



 

Fachspezifische Übungen



 
Zu den Vorlesungen Mathematik für Informatiker sowie Mathematik für Geowissenschaftler wurden fachspezifische Übungen bzw. Miniprojekte entwickelt und zusammengestellt.



 

Intensivkurs zur Mathematik für Biologen



 
Im März 2009 wurde auf Initiative der Biologischen Fakultät erstmalig ein Intensivkurs zur Klausurvorbereitung für Biologinnen und Biologen angeboten. Dabei wurden die Inhalte der Vorlesung zwei Wochen lang systematisch wiederholt und anhand von Übungsaufgaben trainiert.

Der erste Intensivkurs wurde durch die Biologische Fakultät finanziert. Inzwischen ist der Intensivkurs Bestandteil der Projekte zur langfristigen Verbesserung der Nebenfachausbildung Mathematik.



 

Numerik für Studierende der Physik



 
Im Windersemester 2008 / 09 wurde eine zusätzliche Mathematikvorlesung speziell für Studierende der Physik angeboten. Mit Absprache der Physikalischen Fakultät wird die Vorlesung Numerik für Studierende der Physik angeboten und ein vorlesungbegleitendes Skript mit physikalischen Beispielen erstellt.


Arbeitsgruppe Optimierung

 
   

Kontakt



   Arbeitsgruppe Optimierung
   Prof. Dr. Anita Schöbel
   Lotzestraße 16-18
   37083 Göttingen
   Deutschland
 
   Tel. +49 551-39-12237
   Fax: +49 551-39-33944